Jump to:

State and Local Strategies of the Tobacco Industry

Comparison of Hawaii Tobacco & Alcohol Sales Restrictions

Date: 10 Feb 1996
Length: 4 pages
2046923401-2046923404
Jump To Images
snapshot_pm 2046923401-2046923404

Abstract

Table comparing Hawaii's liquor and tobacco regulations. Compares licensing, sales to minors, sign requirements, retail training, sampling, unit sales, inspections, vending, and preemption.

Fields

Region
Hawaii
Subject
licensing
preemption
Sales to Minors
Sampling
Signs
Single Cigarette Sales
Vending Machines
youth access
Alcoholic Beverages

Document Images

Text Control

Highlight Text:

OCR Text Alignment:

Image Control

Image Rotation:

Image Size:

Page 1: qxm65e00
Comparison of Hawaii Tobacco & Alcohol Sales Restrictions 2046923401 Hawaii Tobacco Hawaii Alcohol Provision As of 10/10/95 As of 10/23/95 ADAMHA No Provision The County Liquor Commission Jurisdiction License License: Hawaii Department of Revenue County Liquor Commissions prescribe by rule or regulation Wholesalers and dealers $2.50/ann. the annual or prorated amount and the manner of payment of Rev. Stat. Sect. 245-1 and 245-2. license fees as well as amount of filing fees. Fees varies according to gross sales. Class 1 - beer manufacturer's license for gross sale of $2,000,000 or less - $720; over $2,000,000 - $1,440. Class 3 -General Wholesale dealer's license for gross sales of $1,000,000 or less - $1,440; over $1,000,000 but less than $2,000,000 -$1,800; over $2,000,000 -$2,100. Class 3 - Beer and wine wholesale dealer's license for gross sales of $1,000,000 or less - $420; over $1,000,000 - $840. Class 4 -General retail license for gross sale of $125,000 or less - $660; over $125,000 but less than $150,000 - $780; over $150,000 but less than $175,000 - $900; Sale w/out No Provision Unlawful. License constitute authority for licensee to sell License only the liquor authorized to be sold by the license. (Secs. 281-3 and 244D-2) February 10, 1996, Page 1 0 S 0
Page 2: qxm65e00
204fi923402 Comparison of Hawaii Tobacco & Alcohol Sales Restrictions Hawaii Tobacco Hawaii Alcohol Provision As of 10/10/95 As of 10/23/95 Sale to Violators shall be fined 100 for first offense; subsequent Unlawful. (Sec. 281-4(c)(1) & (5)) Commits the offense of Minors offenses between $100 to $1,000. promoting intoxicating liquor to minor if a person or licensee Sect. 709-908(1). Act 164, 1990; Chapter 293, 1987. knowingly sells, offers for sale, delivers or gives a minor intoxicating liquor or permits said minor to possess intoxicating liquor on property under his/her control. (Sec. 712-1250.5) Sales to minor is not deemed a violation if the licensee was mislead by the appearance of the minor and the licensee honestly believed that the minor was of legal age and licensee acted in good faith. It is incumbert upon licensee to prove that he acted in good faith. (Sec. 281-78(b)(1)(A) & (D)) License No Provision Commission may revoke any license at any time, suspend the Revocation right of the licensee to use his license, assess and collect a penalty or reprimand the licensee for violation of or conviction in a court of law of any condition of his license or the intoxicating liquor laws or any applicable rules or regulations. (Sec. 281-91) Warning "THE SALE OF TOBACCO PRODUCTS TO PERSONS Signs posted on licensed premises notifying customers and Signs UNDER EIGHTEEN IS PROHIBITED." others of the penalty of driving under the influence. Must be Sect. 709-908(2); Act 164, 1990. positioned so that it may be seen by ordinarily observant person. (Sec. 281-44) Sign stating that's it illegal to use false identification or the identification of another to purchase liquor for a person under age 21. Such sign to be posted at the point of sale where it will be seen by person purchasing liquor to take off the premises and at on-premise retail establishments where it is le ible from a distance of 10 feet. (Rule 7-6(e)) February 10, 1996, Page 2 • • S
Page 3: qxm65e00
2046923403 Comparison of Hawaii Tobacco & Alcohol Sales Restrictions Hawaii Tobacco Hawaii Alcohol Provision As of 10/10/95 As of 10/23/95 Purchase by $10 first offense; $50 subsequent offenses or 48-72 hours of No minor shall purchase liquor. (Sec. 281-101.5(b)) No Minors community service. licensee or his employee shall sell or furnish any liquor to any Sect. 709-908(3). minor. (Sec. 281-78(b)(1)(A)) Retail No Provision University of Hawaii may offer and conduct courses of Training instruction in food and beverage control, club management and classical food and bevera e mana ement. (Sec. 304-55) Sampling No law to restrict sampling of tobacco products to adults. Trade exhibitor, trade organization or other exhibitor must apply for permit (no charge) for displaying and sampling on a not-for-sale basis at trade exhibitions, shows or other exhibitions. (Sec. 281-32.5) Samples may be sold back to the manufacturer. (Sec. 281- 31(d)) Sampling on retail premises requires prior written approval by the Commission. Applicant to state and identify type of liquor to be sampled, the date, hours and person in charge of the sampling. Beer samples limited to one three ounce sample of each item per person. Wine and distilled spirits limited to a single one ounce sample of each item per person. No minor permitted to serve or sample liquor. Copy of approved application to be posed in vicinity of sampling area. (Rule 11- 4) February 10, 1996, Page 3 0 I* •
Page 4: qxm65e00
Comparison of Hawaii Tobacco & Alcohol Sales Restrictions 2046923404 Hawaii Tobacco Hawaii Alcohol Provision As of 10/10/95 As of 10/23/95 Single Stick No Provision Yes. (Secs. 281-108 & 281-109) Refers to sin le can or bottle sales Unannounce No Provision Prohibited. d Inspections Vending Cigarette vending machine are restricted to locations where County Liquor Commission, within its county, has sole minors are expressly prohibited. jurisdiction, power, authority and discretion to grant, suspend, S.B. 1567, 1991; Chapter 328K refuse and revoke any license for the manufacture, im ortation or sale of li uor. (Sec. 281-17(1)) Preemption No Provision County Liquor Commission, within its county, has sole jurisdiction, power, authority and discretion to grant, suspend, refuse and revoke any license for the manufacture, im ortation or sale of li uor. (Sec. 281-17(1)) February 10, 1996, Page 4 9 •

Text Control

Highlight Text:

OCR Text Alignment:

Image Control

Image Rotation:

Image Size: